Haydt and Sponagle Split Twin Bill

Randy Haydt won the Sprint Car Final Feature of the season and also decided the season’s Point Battle in the process.  Haydt scored 4 segment wins in his very fast Sprinter.  The win was his overall 4th feature this season at his Namesake tracks but his first in a Sprint Car.  It was a milestone win as well as it was his 70th overall Career Win placing him third all-time.  Haydt scored a 13 section of track win over Mark Williams who moved into the point lead on the final night of racing, dropping Cory Reinhard to second.  The top three in points included Haydt were only 3 point apart after the season’s final checkered.  Williams won 4 segments in a brand new Sprint Car followed by Jim LeVan who continued his hot runs in the Sprinter Class with his #1 Orange ride, LeVan won 3 segments.  Fourth went to Tom Wenner in a strong run with a segment win followed by Scott Bender also winner of one segment to round out the top five.

Brian Spoons Sponagle won his second IROC feature in the last three races and is currently riding in 4th in points with one race remaining.  Spoons won 2 segments in what has become an always tight score sheet for the IROC Division.  Second spot was a tie between Ed Kenderdine and Jim LeVan with LeVan getting the tie breaker by winning a segment.  Fourth spot was Randy Haydt with a segment win and a larger lead in the point battle.  Fifth went to Cory Reinhard who won 2 segments on the night.

Tuesday Tune-ups-  A good field of 14 Sprinters signed in and Tony Zappacosta picked up a nice 8th.   Cory Reinhard who prior to the final race in Sprints had a perfect 3 out of 3 feature wins had an off night and struggled with his car dropping out of his bid for a first ever Point Championship.  Don’t worry Cory will be back stronger next season in his Dad’s prepared cars for TCAS Racing.   Larry Sanders had some good runs with a couple of lead lap finishes.  10 drivers stayed for IROC  and Ed Kenderdine almost pulled off the victory without a segment win.  The top 8 were separated by less than 1 lap.  12 pieces of track separated the top 7 racers.  This class can not get any closer can it? 

Sprint Car All-Time Feature Win list

Kenny Gilmore     32

Mark Williams      19

Randy Haydt           6

Jim LeVan                6

Bryan Kisthardt      4

Shane Hiester         4

Sheldon Hiester      4

Cory Reinhard         3

Scott Bender           3

Kyle Hock                 1

Toby Reinhard         1