Mark Williams won the Modified opener at Randy’s Raceway to kick off the 2014/2015 season at the Berks County Track.  Williams kept falloffs to a minimum and scored the victory with 6 segment wins.  Second spot went to last years opener winner Shane Hiester who was very fast all night.  Hiester won 4 segments and only struggled on lane 7.  Third position went to the Gettysburg racer Eric Beard who won 5 segments in his #18 racer.  This was a good start for Beard racing who also had another car in the top ten on the evening.  Sheldon Hiester came home fourth with steady runs on all lanes and winning 1 segment.  Sheldon was on the lead lap in all but 1 lane.  Rounding out the top five was Bryan Kisthart who was getting right back in mid season form.
The remaining top ten were, Bill Brenner, Mike Fitzgerald, Scott Bender, Brian Sponagle, and Jim Levan.

So Bill Brenner started the next 50 years with a nice 6th place run, it was good to have him in attendance on opening night.  Billy Decker had a fast hot rod but developed some handling problems as the night moved on and wound up 11th at the checkered.  There were zero boundary issues on the 8 lane.  Can’t wait to see where Scott stands when we get to the Tri-Ovals new configuration.  Brian Sponagle grabbed a nice top ten finish, last years most improved driver is looking to score a top five soon.  Toby Reinhard had a tough run on lane one or he would have been a top ten car.

Here is a run down of Modified opening night winners in the history of Randys Raceway.  Three drivers have competed in all 14 openers, Jim Levan, Scott Bender, Billy Decker.
Kenny Gilmore has 4 wins (in a row), Mark Williams has 3 wins including this season, Brett Gilmore has 2 wins.
01-Billy Decker
02-Rich Pigeon
03-Kenny Gilmore
04-Kenny Gilmore
05-Kenny Gilmore
06-Kenny Gilmore
07-Mark Williams
08-Brett Gilmore
09-Jim Levan
10-Brett Gilmore
11-Mark Williams
12-Sheldon Hiester
13-Shane Hiester
14-Mark Williams