Matt Light Puts an Exclamation Point on His Modified Championship Season

Randy’s Raceway Modified Championship Night Race Results – Tuesday, March 22

Matt Light puts an exclamation point on his modified championship season at Randy’s Raceway by scoring his 2nd modified feature win on Championship Night

Matt Light has had an incredible season of slot car racing at Randy’s Raceway. Light won on 12/28 and then locked down the championship with a strong win tonight. But the most impressive stat has been the consistency Light has shown all season in his championship run. Light has 6 – 2nd place finishes and 1 – 3rd place finish in 15 modified events this season. This model of consistency allowed Light to win the modified title by a 31 point difference over 2nd place.

Matt Light scored 3 segment wins on championship night and easily won the modified main by a 27 segment victory, A truly dominate performance. Sheldon Hiester finished in 2nd with 2 segment wins. Randy Jay Haydt won 1 segment in securing the final podium spot on the night. Haydt locked down 2nd place in points with a solid podium night at the track.

4th – Mike Fitzgerald – 3 segment wins

5th – Mike Feltenberger – 1 segment wins

6th – Jim LeVan – 3 segment wins

7th – Brian Sponagle – 1 segment win

8th – Michael Mackaravitz

9th – Bill Decker – 1 segment win

10th – Shane Hiester – 1 segment win

11th – Tom Wenner – 1 segment win

12th – Jordan Hess

13th – James Hammershock

14th – Hiram Durant

15th – Brian Vanbuskirk

16th – Eric Beard – 1 segment win

17th – Tony Zappacosta

Trophy Night Notes:

17 Racers in attendance on championship night. Only 1 race remains on the schedule for ’22 season, Tuesday – March 29th – Sprint Car Championship Night. Matt Light & Sheldon Hiester are tied for the point lead, Randy Jay Haydt is only 9 back. The theme of close racing remains in place – 3rd and 4th were only separated by 6 segments. 4th to 7th were separated by only 10 track segments. Podium to 7th is half a track, That’s all – Just good close racing . Congrats to Mike Feltenberger on another strong run wheeling a Hiester entry.

Randy’s Raceway ’22 Modified Points:

Top 10

Matt Light 1226

Randy Jay Haydt 1195

Sheldon Hiester 1182

  1. Shane Hiester 1171
  2. Michael Mackaravitz 1168
  3. Brian Sponagle 1155
  4. Jim LeVan 1091
  5. Bill Decker 1040
  6. – James Hammershock 1009
  7. Eric Beard 944